Charging only at 3.6kw

All Honda E related discussions
D010181

Post by D010181 »

Hi Guys

I'm new with the E and checking the forum already saw mine have some issues, like drivers handle not retracting (in), pressure warning on all the time, and what I think is an issue with charging.

I can't find anything online is why it charges so slow, right know is charging in home fast charger only 3.6kw. that tooks 50% to 100% 6 hours so around 12hr full charge. what i have at home is a WALLBOX pulsar plus 32a but limited to 16a (usual here in denmark) I think is the 11kw.

Any idea whats going on?

Thanks in advance!

zemdega

Post by zemdega »

It's totally fine. As you are limited to 16A and Honda E can use only one phase.

Screenshot 2022-01-25 at 18.44.49.jpg

D010181

Post by D010181 »

Anything that I can improve on the wallbox? or a way to go to 1 phase and 7kw?

Thanks!
Keawon

Post by Keawon »

Is all about how many amp you can supply the wallbox, often wallbox is connected to home grid and then you are limited to what inbound amp to home is.
Even if you connect wallbox to 3-phase 16A or 3-phase 32A, the car converts to 1-phase.
The supplied cable from Honda is 1-phase 32A and thats is 7.4kw. So check with your electrician how much you can supply wallbox with. 20A? 25A?
zemdega

Post by zemdega »

Depends on cable that comes to your house. For example I have old house with aluminium cable to it. I could ask my electricity supplier to increase my connection from 20A to 32A but they can refuse if cable is not thick enough. If your infrastructure was build as future proof you may have possibility to get more Amps and get charge till 7.4. If it's only made for 16A there's nothing you can do besides changing new cable (but I'm guessing it will cost a fortune in your country).
zemdega

Post by zemdega »

BTW Honda e is limited to 6,6kW AC charging so going past 7,4kW on one phase is not useful.
D010181

Post by D010181 »