Brushing sound at lower speeds?

All Honda E related discussions
vulgaris_magistralis

Post by vulgaris_magistralis »

I just got my Honda E in Netherlands that I've been waiting for a year now. I've been reading this forum in the meantime, firstly thank you all.

After a couple of days of driving, I noticed a brushing sound coming while I'm at low speeds (usually either breaking or taking off). My best guess is that it is coming from the wheels. Since it sounds almost like the break pads are scraping against the rotor, I checked it but couldn't see something. The sound vanishes once I get up to speed (around 40km/h).

Is this normal? Do you guys also have it? Since I'm a newbie and it is my first EV, I'm not sure if this is supposed to be okay or not.

Accord

Post by Accord »

I can hear the motor when regenerating downhill at 30-40 km/h, but I haven't heard any brushing.
keithr

Post by keithr »

Are you sure it's not the pedestrian warning sound that the car makes at low speeds? ;)
londiniumperson

Post by londiniumperson »

Mines done that from new, on mine it’s definitely the disc pads rubbing on the discs because not only do I get an excessive (compared to any other car I’ve owned in 40 years) amount of brake dust on the wheels but also the pads have worn a lot more than other EV’s, particularly on the rear.
2022 Advance in Crystal Black Pearl on 17's - 08/2020-Current
2015 VW Tiguan (Pure White) - 04/2018-Current
1991 Honda Beat PP1 (Festival Red) - 11/2022-Current
hondaeboy

Post by hondaeboy »

vulgaris_magistralis wrote: Tue Feb 14, 2023 12:44 pm Is this normal? Do you guys also have it? Since I'm a newbie and it is my first EV, I'm not sure if this is supposed to be okay or not.
Does it do this when you're completely stationary? Or only when you drive at very low speeds? If the latter, it's the mandatory pedestrian warning noise.

https://electrek.co/2019/07/01/electric-cars-eu-noise/